Medical Testing, Insurance and Kids

Today I went for some more medical tests. Today was a cardio  catscan and blood draw or what they call labs. More poking in my veins. They have drawn or iv’d that same spot 5x. That vein is done. It is tired of being the pin cushion. For the next event we will have to find a new vein because this one has retired.

My insurance company and the doctors are sparring over my testing. First they did not give Mr Dr Adams, hemotologist,  authorization for the full panel of labs he wanted and they have denied a med. (The reason I call him Mr Dr Adams is that I also see his wife, Mrs Dr Adams.)

Today we found out the insurance has not approved my nuclear stress test for tomorrow. They decided to postpone my echocardioigram until Wednesday. 

Today’s cardio catscan was easy peasey. The contrast dye did it’s strange warm your body routine that flushes down your body. It is a strange sensation. I have been blessed with the donut hole catscans so there is no feeling of claustrophobia. 

I feel like a frequent hospital member, I need my Mountain View Hospital one and one for Eastern Idaho Regional Medical Center (EIRMC pronunciation Er-mac). I am hoping they can coordinate me to go to one hospital only. Strangely these hospitals are two blocks apart.

We test and we wait. My mammogram did show my lump was benign. So that is one less worry. Strangely that seemed so minor and just an irritation to go through that but they were being thorough.

I go into see Dr Stetser on the 31st. We then go from there.

The Princess is worried. Randomly she will come over to me and say,”I don’t want you to die tomorrow.” I assure I am not. I still am not clear why it is tomorrow. 

She and her Sissy did nails, makeup and hair when Sis was here for the weekend. She loved it so much that she took all my clear polish and put it into a cup to do hers later by herself. I got a nail polish contact high. Lord help us, when that child hits puberty. 

Princess is trying to figure out why the new pup, Chrissy likes to eat her toys. We have explained to her over and over that if they were picked up this wouldn’t happen. But Princess is doing great at taking care of her even if she is stuff animal murderer.

And then their is the Teen. Did you feel the heavy sigh when I typed that. I am trying to see if he is ODD (Oppositional Defiance Disorder) or BTT (Bratty Teen Tyrant). He is a push buttons, backtalking, mocksing, name calling, argumentative, noise making, defiant, violent and a smart ass.  He won’t back down, he won’t admit he is wrong and is explosive. 

He wears me out. Some days more than others. Princess has her special needs…an 8 year old trapped in an 11 year body. She thrives on routine and knowing. She can be a handful. But she can be so sweet. Whereas,  theTeen pushes you just to push and to get a reaction from you. Sadly, they are not usually positive reactions.

We have told him repeatedly that I need to stay calm and not be stressed. He takes that as a dare.  Trying to see how far he can push me until I loose my cool. Then he tells me to calm down. So thus it goes. If I choose to go and calm down, he is at my door pounding. Sigh, I need more inner fortitude. 

God is certainly teaching me patience and anger control. 

Tonight and every night I pray. I pray for clarity, understanding my children and their safety. I pray for each one; the wife, the soldier, the adventurer, the feminist geek, the Teen and the Princess.  I hold them all dear. I pray that each day they are safe and closer to God. I am blessed. 

So today was tests (which you can’t study for), insurance companies that change their mind like the wind and wonky kids-life is good and definitely better than the alternative….being single.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

