Sleeping to the Sound of My Voice

Today was a typical day in Turnerville, The Teen exploding, teasing, backtaling and arguing. The Princess alternating from whining to laughing or just chattering away to herself

The Teen stayed home sick. Not sure how truly sick he was, have a hunch he was pulling a Ferris Bueller. The Teen now thinks chores are optional if he doesn’t feel like doing them. I informed eating could be optional also. He didn’t like that. I am glad I color my hair because I am sure I am gray. His grades have drastically improved but he continues to struggle with The social aspects. He struggles with self esteem. We keep trying to build him up but he says we do it because we have to.

The Teen and The hubby clash so often. Mostly because The Teen pushes his buttons and doesn’t stop. My normally patient husband will only take so much and The Teen doesn’t know when to quit The backtalk.

The Princess had dress up as a Disney character day at school. We convinced her to be unique and go as a clown from the circus in Dumbo. That we could recycle her clown costume for one more go. I was told tonight there were way too many princesses. She was to walk home by herself today. She went to a friend’s house and had her mom bring her home because her legs got too tired. Tonight at dinner she ate her whole dinner including meat and veggies. No complaints.

She is the one that wants to be around us and do things with us as opposed to the Teen who wants to nowhere and keeps to himself. He told us he didn’t want to be seen in public. Which always makes Ron think of the Ron White routine. I hope Princess continues to like us. But soon she too Wil become a teenager and go through PPC aka puberty personality change.

I have come to term with my diet which is more a lifestyle change. I have not weighed myself as that is a no no for the first 30 days. I know my pants are baggy and people say I am looking thinner. I am doing well avoiding my temptation foods and drinks. Even on my cheat day I barely cheat. I have stayed very basic choosing not to do a lot of fancy recipes. I am finding I don’t miss like I thought.

One good thing is that my blood sugars have lowered too the point I ha e been too low. My body clues me in quickly. Only problem is that the things I would normally due are all no no foods. Also, Ron is cooking more so he fixes their meal and I fix mine. So this a win win.

Tonight we ate dinner and actually had the kids talking. Let me rephrase thar, the Princess always talk but The Teen actually joined in with a pleasant tone and not a surly growl or grunt. Love those nights. We always no matter what eat dinner together at the table. Even if you choose not to eat, you come to the table.

My relationship with God and my journey brings me closer to Him everyday. Maybe it is due to my age. Maybe it is my Christian maturity. Maybe it is my continuing health issues and the challenges of the last year.. All I know that in this time I am closer to Him than ever before. It helps tremendously as our lives are not rainbow and unicorns. I am truly walking by faith. 

Tonight I was waxing philosophical to my husband as we settled into bed. I thought we were talking until; one, he didn’t answer my question and two, he began to snore. I had to chuckle, I put him to sleep with my talking and I hope not to do that to people on Sundays.

Tonight my prayer is for my family, my churches past and present, for those hurting and for God’s will to be done. Not my will but His will. During this season of Lent, I have been hearing Him remind of that. He has this, I just have to fully surrender and completely let go and let him. He also has been letting me not be afraid of who I am or how I am..I don’t have to be a copy or cookie cutter image of what people envision me to be as a wife, mother and pastor.. I just need to be me.

I am now hearing the soft breathing of two dogs, the muffled snores of my spouse, the sleep mumbles of the Princess and the quiet house noises. I am happy, I am content. I am at peace and I am loved.

So what if I put my husband asleep with my voice-I will consider that a talent.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

