A New Start

When I was recovering from my strokes is when this blog was born. It has seen recovery, heartache, family growth, day to day life and moving across the country. Now a new chapter is beginning.

I am going to be starting cross fit. This is both exhilarating for me to do but also terrifying. I still do not have full function in my left arm and my lower left leg. So this should be interesting. I can list here all the things that I can’t do because of my body limitations but by doing so I admit defeat. I will have to modify. I may not end up looking in great form but I will be doing the best I can.

Part of me is proud of myself for going for this. But this is not the hardest thing I have ever done. Hard was the two strokes. Hard was learning to walk, learning how to use my hand for fine motor. Hard was figuring out how to get dressed. I remember the joy I had when I learned to put on my bra by myself and the first time I buttoned my jeans. So why does this make me nervous?

One- I hate to fail. Two- I hate to disappoint. Three- I am competitive. Four- I hate looking awkward. Fifth- I don’t like to sweat. Ok number five is me being a goof. I am going to have to “suck it up, butter cup” probably quite often. Quitting, stopping or making excuses is not an option. Have a hunch my prayer life got a bit more intense.

I told some of my kids about me doing this and they laughed and then they saw that I was serious. He who laughs last…

Tonight at the YAK (Young Adult Court), we had some major breakthroughs with trust and some great laughs. But toward the end of the social, we saw some changes come over them as we shared how much we love them. We talked with them about having a 30 minute gathering of sharing God’s word in some form. They got excited about it. We would let them formulate the ideas and we will implement them.

This excites me. This is a new way for them to not so much see church but for them to begin to see relationship and spirituality. To see the Living Christ and how He loves them. I love these kids and I admire them. They aren’t perfect…they are real. They are overcoming great odds and learning to make good choices.

The best part of Sunday night is when they give you a goodbye hug and I whisper, “you are loved”. Sometimes they think I am only talking about how I love them but I am also speaking of God’s love.

This may be what God is putting before us…a new way to be the Church.

I will keep you apprised on how much I have accomplished–with both the fitness plan and my YAK kids.

Find your passion, pray, listen and pursue.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

