Saturday Crossfit

This morning I woke up at 7 a.m. on a Saturday morning to go and workout. Now that sounds like a rather benign comment. But anyone who knows me realizes this alone a miracle. I am a sleep in on a Saturday gal.

Saturday is the one day I don’t work or have to get up and get Frick and Frack ready for school. 

Today I woke up, rubbed the sleep from my eyes, put on my workout clothes and grabbed a higher protein breakfast than usual. Then I drove to Maltese Crossfit for an hour workout.

Air bike, push-ups,  rings and fast walking.  These are a modified for my left stroke side. I was sweating and panting. My left arm was shaking. I loved it!!! I accomplished the workout. Was it perfect? Not at all. But it didn’t need to be.

Who would have thought my 51 (almost 52) year old lazy anti exercise lazy butt body would be doing this? If you have asked me 10 years ago, I would have laughed hilarious until tears were coming down my face. 

And after the strokes, I thought I was lucky to be even walking and able to move my arm much less being doing Crossfit. I am a reformed being. Today I even lifted my left arm over my head. This is a major accomplishment. 

When I am doing this, I am on a different zone. I am absorbed into what I am doing and thinking of how I am going to improve my reps, calories and timing.

It helps that my family believes in me and I have an awesome coach in Chyrelle. It helps that I also believe in me.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

