Burpee lover….ummm

Week 3 of the Crossfit class is complete. Only three more weeks of this class left. It is one of the absolutely hardest thing I have ever done physically since my stroke. At times I just don’t want to go but I do it. 

I walk in each day with a mixture of fear and determination. Fear that I won’t be able to due the progressions or the WOD (work out of the day). But determined that I will do it and get through it. 

I thought I would be worried about how I’d look compared to other people. They come in with their own baggage and issues. I really focus on my workout and do not compare myself to others. I sometimes wish I didn’t have so many modifications but I am only competing against myself.

There is almost a spiritual rush I get when I am done. I most certainly say a prayer of thanks when I am done and that I am still breathing even if it is gasping and panting. Seriosly, I do thank God that I am  able to do this and making progress. I thank Him that my diabetes is improving, I thank Him that I have not quit. 

My family has been so awesome. Chyrelle, my niece, is the coach and she is amazing. She told me I could do this. Kerri, Josh, Amber, Jennifer have been voices of encouragement. My kids think this is pretty cool. And my hubby says he is proud of me.

Now I do have modifications so my burpees look different but I do them and I am a big fan of them like the majority of the folks. In fact this weeks challenge is to do 500 burpees by Saturday. I am at 215. 

Me and the attack bike are getting to be close pals. The rowing machine and I are not as close. I keep getting my shoes stuck in the shoe spot, I spend more time strapping and unstrapping my feet than I do rowing.

I am forcing myself to push my left arm. I can lift it over my head now. A lot of time I am doing the motions without the hand weight to give it muscle memory. When I do use the weights, left arm gets less weight and I often use my right hand to help the left.

The barbells are a work in progress. I am using a 5 lb barbell with no plates. Partly because the extra weight with my  uneven strength puts me off balance. But once again I am building muscle memory. 

My absolute favorite thing is the rings. I can do the ring pull forever..well not literally. I can stand back and lean backwards and pull myself up and go back down. On these I rock out on, I feel most comfortable there. Today I hung on the pull up bar. This was a challenge, as I had to make sure not to compensate for my left side. It felt that my shoulder would pop out of the socket.

Each time I go to the gym I challenge myself that I can do this. We encourage one snother. There is a sisterhood of the challenge class. Friendships being formed over our sweat and grunts. If you would have ever told me I’d be doing this, I would have laughed hysterically. 

I am not only doing Crossfit, not only making progress and seeing it, I love this sport. Will I ever be competitive…well who knows. I am no longer a victim of my strokes but a survivor. It is not going to stop me. Burpees might but not my strokes.

Author:

I am a wife, mother, and pastor. We moved from Bowling Green, Missouri to Idaho Falls in 2016. I am a native of Eastern Washington state. In 2013 I had 2 strokes in 8 days and this is my journey of faith, family and health. I believe no matter what happens in your life that God can use it for His glory.

Leave a Reply

